Reviews

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

We came here for a funeral service for a dear family relative/friend and it is located in a beautiful setting away from the hustle and bustle of the freeway so it takes some time to get to the memorial park but the grounds are beautiful and impeccable. The service was held inside and it was a beautiful room, beautiful service and everything was perfect. After the gravesite service, we returned to the reception room upstairs and it is a cozy place where we gathered for refreshments.

Karen W.

The funeral director and staff at Skylawn were very professional yet comforting, level-headed and considerate of details that we hadn't thought about. They were very accomodating, making the process of laying my mother to rest as easy as possible under the circumstances when so many other institutions make the process of disconnection so difficult. My family and I will always be grateful for their care and support, and for how well the Skylawn staff worked with our mortuary in Sonoma County.

Carla B.

Such a beautiful park! I love it.

Jessica G.

If I could give more than 5 stars, I absolutely would! Skylawn, specifically Nature, Shani, and support staff handled everything w/o a flaw and considering I'm in Sac..it was amazing. The memorial service for my father was beautiful, elegant, memorable. We now have 5 family members buried at Skylawn, and have always been very pleased at the service and kindness they give to everyone. Thank you Skylawn for making a very difficult time for us, so effortlessly and amazing.

Yyvonne L.

We were recommended to Skylawn by a friend. We met with John Hui (Family Service Advisor) and he gave us an extensive tour of the cemetery. The view is amazing and the grounds are well kept. John explained the burial process and options to us. He also took the time to answer our many questions and we greatly appreciated this. Recently, my father passed away and we needed to arrange the burial which John was able to help us coordinate. He also put us in touch with Elliot Franks (Funeral Arranger) for scheduling the Private Viewing and Cremation. John and Elliot were compassionate and personable during this difficult time, kept us informed, and treated our family respectfully. We are very fortunate to have them assist us through this process. Thank you, gentlemen!

Vivian Z.

Honestly, if you live around the Peninsula area, I don't know why you'd choose any other place. Skylawn has two things going for it -- location and people. It's located up in the mountains on Skyline Boulevard, away from it all. It is so peaceful up there, and when I cremated my father, I walked out knowing I couldn't have chosen a better place. Their facilities are very well managed, and a lot of care is given to the ambiance. When you walk into the reception, it feels like you're walking into a spa. Every detail is taken care of. People - everyone is so nice, and try to be very much in-tune with what you're looking for. For my family (and as per our tradition), it was very important to complete the cremation as soon as possible after death, as that's when we receive our closure. In many ways, while my father had passed, we are so attached to his physical form, that knowing it is still around means not being able to start the process to move on. Most other funeral homes wanted to take at least 3 or 4 days for the process. Some really awful ones said it might take between 12 - 21 days. Crazy. I've never thought I'd be the kind of person who cares too much about what happens post-death, but the thought of my father's physical form being a freezer somewhere for a few weeks while everyone else carried on spooked me. When I spoke to Angela, the person who helped us make the initial arrangements, was very understanding of our needs and promised they'd be able to expedite it. And she was true to her word. My father was cremated within 24 hours of his passing. Our funeral director was Nature Best, besides her excellent name, she was very efficient and competent and guided us through the process very well. We had a private family viewing and witness cremation arranged, which generally accommodates only 8 people, but we had a lot of unexpected family who showed up to pay respects to my father, and she was very accommodating to allow all 14 of us to be part of the whole event. She was a constant presence through the process and made sure everything went very smoothly. Now its very easy to miss out the people behind the scenes who make things happen, but I want to give them a nod, and my thanks. First and foremost, Fiona, who prepared my father for the viewing. We wanted him in traditional clothing (Southern Indian), and we sent them a dhoti and a YouTube video on how one wears it. He was just so beautiful. Words can't express. This is quite significant, as my father's lasting image on our minds is no longer him on his deathbed, but him, resting peacefully, looking so beautiful, that we feel he was at his prime. Thank you so much, Fiona. Eva and James, who coordinated the viewing and moving him to the crematory, thank you so much for the great setup, the excellent ambiance and various nuggets of little thoughtfulness. Esther, the person in-charge of the administrative tasks, was hyper-efficient in arranging for doctor's signatures and cremation permit, many thanks for helping us with our expedited process. Finally, the friendly face of Darlia at the front desk, is someone I'd never forget. She remembers my name and pronunciation, and that's quite an achievement, as its an unusual name. With all the above (and upon walking in), you mayexpect prices to be sky high. Skylawn is definitely not inexpensive, but its priced rather competitively compared to most places I shopped around for, so it really was a no-brainer. One final note - it's not easy to run a funeral home. This is one business where in interacting with customer after customer, it is expected that some amount of compassion be shown, as each family has just encountered a terrible tragedy. It is very easy to become numb, if you're doing this every day for many years. This was my experience with a lot of places I visited, where everyone is very busy giving you their empty condolences between every other line of conversation, that gets annoying very quickly. Skylawn felt different, I could feel compassion coming out of them through the process, but words were used for practical matters like making arrangements, not for expressing empty flowery sentences that are meaningless. This is something most people can't be taught, as it involves being human at a very deep level. I think they hire really well, so this is thanks to whomever put the team together. Thank you, Skylawn. You've earned yourself a loyal fan, while I hope I won't have to use you ever again :)

Tejas V.

Skylawn has always been a peaceful place to visit my mom, my grandma, and my brother. I was there on Friday to finish some paperwork for my Aunt and both Patrick Feehan and Leanne were very helpful and made the process very comfortable! It seems that customer service has lacked in the past many years in the business/retail industry but it's very clear to me that Skylawn, Patrick, and Leanne have the customer skills to help you feel comfortable through processes that can be difficult for its clients.

Susanne C.

We'd like to share our experience at Skylawn. This review is for the service of my Father, Narayan Swamy. To begin, our experience with Skylawn has been amazing. The staff, specifically Elliot Franks has been a true blessing. Elliot went above and beyond to meet our family needs, and I couldn't have asked for more. From beginning to end, Elliot went above and beyond to meet our needs. He was patient, calm, compassionate and truly genuine through out the entire process. On the day of the service, Elliot and Eva were there supporting us through everything, even the prayer service. Elliot and Eva felt more like family than staff and that itself highlights the true integrity and amazing people they are. From the Swamy family to Elliot Franks, Eva Bressler, and Skylawn staff, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. We are truly grateful!

Sushil S.

My family really appreciated Cecilia Soo and her team's help. She made the process much easier and really helped us to have my father's resting place near my grand parent.

Dave K.

Renee - E and I wanted to send this brief note to say thank you so much for the job you and the team did over the entire last week and a half. It was a pleasure to work with you - your were responsive and compassionate in your interactions with E and I. This was a very rushed timeline and you dealt with the entire process and assured us that all would get done well. We appreciated that you we’re able to get us into to the larger Chapel and the Reception room, and your recommendation of the bag piper was perfect. Again - thank you so much for all that you did. Also, please express our appreciation to everyone else who helped make this happen.

E & D

Dear Michael, I am sorry this note is so late but I wanted to thank you so much for all that you did for me and my family regarding the burial of my mom. Also a huge thanks for coming out on your day off to guide us up to the burial site. All that you did was first rate and seemed so effortless. My mom and dad were great people and deserved the best. Blessings to you always & thank you. K.A & Family

K.A & Family

I just called because I want to tell you how much I appreciate Blossoms, the flower shop that you have there at Skylawn and especially Amy. She's such a professional and every time I ask her for an arrangement, she does so beautifully. When [my loved one] passed, we purchased the flowers from Blossoms and she did such a beautiful, lovely job The way she deals with customers is fantastic, I just can't say enough about how wonderful Amy is. She does such a great job that I am going to use blossoms for all my flower orders from now on. -J.P

J.P

Hi Cindy, Clara wanted you to know that we are extremely pleased with all that you have done - a good, thorough and highly professional job! It has been a pleasure working with you. Many thanks! S.L

S.L

Dear Clifford, Thank you for all your effort that fulfilled my mom's last wishes to be at St. Peter & Paul. L

L

Hi Nickol, What a whirl wind the last few months have been. I hope you are doing well and that your New Year is off to a great start. Please extend our appreciation to your staff for hosting another wonderful “Celebration of Light” memorial service on December 7th. You are surrounded by a wonderful team at Skylawn and we appreciate each one of them. Best wishes, V.S

V.S

Cindy just wanted to say thanks to you, Mary and staff for a wonderful day. My Dad and I know we made the right choice with Skylawn and that my mother was in good care and now she is resting in a beautiful place. Thank You! If I can I wanted to get 20 more of the programs so I can send out to those that were unable to attend. I can pick them up at the desk. Thanks Again have a great Day. F.B

F.B

Dear John, Nickol and all of the Skylawn Staff - Thanks to all of you for everything. Thank you for all your help and kindness to my family and me

The B. Family

Clifford, My family and I would like to express our sincere gratitude for the very kind and supportive efforts provided by you as well as the Jessica, Amy, and Nicole. It was a pleasure having you handle our father's funeral service. Your attention to the details as well as letting us know the requirements was extremely helpful. The flower arrangement that Amy and the florist put together was perfect for our father We could not have wished for better support and attentiveness to all of the details for his funeral. The reception we held afterwards would have made our father proud as the room was perfect for the event. Thank you again for all of your support as well as the rest of the staff. My best regards to you and your family, and the Skylawn staff,

W.S.

Nickol - thank you so much for organizing my dads services you made it so easy for us and we really appreciate all the hard work you did Thanks!!! For making it HAPPEN. Enjoy some hot chocolate or tea or coffee on us its the least we could do for taking care of us thanks!

E.

Hello, Cindy -- I wanted to say again how much I appreciated the help from you, Mona, Karen, and other Skylawn staff members this weekend while I was doing video and photo coverage of the Segundo Jacinto memorial events. Everyone was very considerate. This was my first visit to Skylawn, and I was extremely impressed by the high level of care and professionalism there, as well as by the beauty of the Center and the park itself. You obviously extended yourselves to make sure the needs of the family were met in every way.

J.H.

Dear Ms. Naras - We would like to thank you and your staff for helping us with the funeral and burial of R.C. It was a difficult time for us and you were all compassionate and professional.

H.C.

Dear Michael, Cindy, Mona and the Staff at Skylawn - Your professionalism, kind, respectful services to our family in our time of deepest grief will never be forgotten. With sincere thanks and appreciation.

A.B.

Clifford, I wanted to thank you for coordinating such an organized, well-planned and respectful ceremony yesterday for T. P. The homage to the family and deference to the important cultural traditions of the Vietnamese people was done with caring, sensitivity, and sincerity. I want you to know that these gestures to a grieving family and friends makes the reality of saying good-bye to a loved one more acceptable. Your care and concern for everyone involved was quite evident. I can see that you were destined to do this work of comforting families and friends in their deepest grief. Very few people have the gifts to do so. Your efforts will forever be appreciated and remembered.

N.M.

Great Experience, Staff was very responsive and kind. Beautiful place~!

M.M.

I called and talked to Michael about the services for my Dad and Mom. My Mom passed in 2005 and my Dad passed June of last year. After I talked to Michael and told what was going on and how my situation was I could not believe how helpful Michael was and how understanding he was to my situation. He suggested what would work best for me and showed me many choices and actually indirectly help me make the choice of where the niche is. I can't thank Michael for such a great yet easy experience at Skylawn cemetery.

JR

Dear Mary - Thank you for your beautiful card. We are sincerely grateful for the support we received from you and everyone else at Skylawn, as it truly meant a lot to our family.

S. Family

We had a great experiences with the Skylawn Funeral Home and Memorial Park from the beginning to the end Mr. Michael De Wilde, our counselor, is very professional. He provided us with excellent and practical suggestions about every detail, and saw to every step and he was always quick in providing service. We were very impressed by his work. Ms. Nickol Ladd, our funeral service director, also did a great job. Paying attention to every detail. Both of them are perfectionists, and most of all there were understanding and sympathetic. Finally Skylawn is a beautiful place, very well motivational. We strongly recommend this place to everyone!

J.L

Dear Nikol and Lisa, Than you so much for helping us hold another wonderfully successful volunteer retreat at the Lifemark Center. Being able to provided training that is appropriate to the needs of the volunteers is an amazing mission of mine. Making the beautiful MSTA room available to us makes this possible. Thank you both for the wonderful work you do!

S.B.

Dear Michael and Nickol, We would like to thank you again for all arrangements you made for us, and we truly appreciate your kindness, consideration and professionalism. Our relatives were also greatly impressed by your work and everything they saw. I think we will often go back to pay respect to my father-in-law in the future.

J.

Dear Cindy, We would like a moment to thank you, from the bottom of our hearts, for the excellent customer service you and your team provided last Saturday at my mother's funeral service. You took care of all the small details so we could focus on the important matters. Please extend our appreciation to Jennifer and Steve as well. God bless you!

The Y. Family

Dear Michael, Just checking emails now and wanted to let you know that your services were excellent. It was a pleasure working with you and would recommend your services to everyone. May the whole process very easy. Thanks for all your efforts and kind thoughts. Will be calling you on Monday.

E.R.

Dear Meghan, I wanted to let you know how helpful you were for us in organizing my mom's memorial service. You were very kind and professional at all times and made everything so much easier for us. Our whole family was very comforted by the service and we feel like it really honored B.. The flowers were beautiful, please thank Amy for us. Even the weather was perfect, she would have loved it.

B.S.

Dear Nickol and Michael DeWilde, Thank you so much for everything you and Skylawn did for us at such a difficult time. It was a pleasure to work with you and Michael and you went above and beyond our expectations. M. would have been very honored to know how much he was loved! We are really going to miss him. Thank you again from the bottom of our hearts. Love, Elena, Scott and Kim

E, S and K

Dear Meghan - I sent an email but am not sure you received it and wanted you to know how much we appreciated everything you did to make my father's memorial so beautiful. Your help with everything was amazing, and your special kindness to us, and especially to my mother, will always be remembered. It takes a very special person to handle all you do everyday, and we will never forget what you did for our friends, family and for dad. I'm sure he was looking down at us all that day and saying "wow, that was really beautiful - thank you"

L.H.

Both of my parents are buried there and no one brother also. Michael DeWilde was so very helpful and understanding. Making the process go very smoothly. This is such a beautiful resting place

N.G.

Hello, It is not often I take the time to provide feedback regarding an employee. It is extremely rare that I come across this level of outstanding service. My time is very limited, especially in this difficult time making arrangements for my mothers funeral. However, I feel compelled to share my experience yesterday with your employee, Jennifer Clark. I have worked in many aspects of the customer service industry my entire life and am very conscience of the quality of service I receive. I can not begin to tell you how incredibly wonderful my experience with Ms. Clark was. Her amazing qualities include extreme patients and understanding, the ability to put one at ease in a very difficult time, genuine kindness and compassion, the ability to guide one through the process without feeling rushed or over guided, and the ability to carry out and assure one any detail requested will be attended to. One example of her above and beyond service is I had emailed her last night with a detail I had not thought of mentioning to her earlier yesterday. I emailed her very late that day, approximately 11 pm, with my request. I expected a return email during normal business hours the next day. I could not believe she addressed my request and returned my email at approximately midnight last night. Who does that? I'm sure I am forgetting to mention many other wonderful qualities Jennifer exudes in this difficult time. Simply said, Jennifer is a stellar employee and I wanted to share my amazing experience with you. Skylawn is very fortunate to have Jennifer as an employee.

J. G.-D.

Thank you for your enlightenment of services to my papa.

The L. Family

Dear Nickol and Skylawn Staff: Thank you for all your help in this difficult time for our family. Our lovely memorial for our mother would not have been such a wonderful event if it had not been for your staff’s diligence in finding candles and helping us with all the little things we did not remember to get/do. Thank you so much. Your facilities were beautiful and perfect for our event. The two rooms we were allowed to use could not have been in a better juxtaposition for the service and then the meal. Our mother would have surely approved of the way in which we were able to memorialize her life. This thought brings me much peace. Again our many thanks.

C.B.

Dear Meghan - I sent you an email but am not sure you received it and wanted you to be sure to know how much we appreciated everything you did to make my father's memorial so beautiful. Your help with everything was so amazing, and your special kindness to us, and especially to my mother, will always be remembered. It takes a very special person to handle all you do everyday, and we will never forget what you did for our friends, family and for dad. I'm sure he was looking down at us all that day saying "wow" that was really beautiful - Thank you

L.H.

Dear Nickol, Cindy and Jessica, My mother's funeral service was conducted very well. Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you very much.

P.L.

Dear Mary, Thank you again for helping us with my dad's burial ceremony today. It was a difficult day, and I appreciate that you made it as smooth and as beautiful as it was. I know the road to today was not always easy, and I am grateful that you stood with us every step of the way. Thank you for being such a tenacious advocate on our behalf. Thank you again for all your help. I feel that today was a meaningful day of healing and a wonderful way to honor and remember my dad. Thank you for helping make that happen.

T.

We can't thank you enough for the perfect service today for my father! Everything you did to make it special was unforgettable: military honors, priest contact, chairs at site, prayer cards, reception room, photo table, rose petals and the caterer ( which was amazing!!) The room with the water, open doors, was like we were celebrating my dad and he would have been so honored! You made all this happen for him and we will never forget it! Mom called it beautiful, just like you! Thank you with all my heart!

L.

I cannot say enough good things about Michal Thress. I am 75 years old and was planning my mother's burial from 2000 miles away. I had never done this before and I needed so much help. Michal was such a pleasure. He was informative, compassionate, patient, caring, professional and so much help. I was blessed to have him as my counselor. Beautiful cemetery.

M.S.

Hello Today my daughter and visited my husband grave site and were a bit confused as there was no marker and when we were going to leave a very nice lady employed by Skylawn drove up and asked us if we needed help and we said yes and we wanted to say she was the nicest employee we have met at Skylawn we have asked several times to have the marker placed as their none present at my husband sight and it his hard to place flowers as we do not have a head stone yet. I was not sure where I was going to order my head stone at yet but I have decided now I will order with Lorrie as she gave my daughter and I such great service and made us feel very comfortable. Thank you Lorrie for you great service

C. & M. J.

Meghan - Words can't describe the wonderful things you did for us in time of sorrow. Deepest gratitude and endless thank you! Everything you did "Priceless!". You will be in our hearts forever.

The D. Family

To Whom it May Concern: Though, the difficult experience of having to decide funeral arrangements and memorial tablets Skylawn's Family Service Consultant, Michael De Wilde, allowed me and my family to ask multiple questions and answer them without hesitation. He was able to reduce our stress and worries. He was able to reply to our inquiries in a timely and respectful manner. Although, the experience of funeral arrangements and burials is never a happy one Mr. De. Wilde allowed for us to have a calm and stress reduced atmosphere allowing us an easier time to grieve in peace. Looking back on this experience I would indeed refer family and friends to Skylawn. The memorial park itself is beautiful and peaceful, a very appealing aspect for families. During my family's attempts at deciding where my mother should rest, we decided on Skylawn because of its beautiful scenery and atmosphere, despite its distance from our homes. In the end, the Skylawn staff and Mr. De Wilde were very helpful in accommodating our needs and concerns. I would definitely recommend Skylawn in the future, as well as Mr. De Wilde since he played such a huge part in our satisfaction. Thank you for everything.

E.M.

Dear Cindy - On behalf of T.'s family and friends, i want to thank you for your support, patience, adn expertise in making T.'s funeral arrangements including the administrative matters. I was so pleases to meet you face to fave, and appreciate your genuine warmth. It was a beautiful day.

C.F. August 23, 2013

My name is M.C. , and have family members interred at Skylawn. During a recent visit I was approached by Ms. Mikkelson, who was not only personable but showed genuine concern for my fathers grave site. Her approach was sincere and respectful. I want to convey to you my appreciation for that attention and that Ms. Mikkelson is congratulated for all her efforts. As a small business owner here in the North Peninsula, it is those qualities I seek in my Company that assures success and professionalism. I assure you that I will recommend her to my friends and family members. Thank you in advance for your attention and I remain.

M.C. August 12, 2013

Stephanie and Mary, Thank you so much for your assistance locating W. G. grave yesterday. I do apologize for my error that caused all the confusion. It was very reassuring for us to see the beautiful marker that the G. family had installed. It will be easy for us to now find the correct site. Again, thanks for your help. You both went above and beyond for us.

M.S. August 08, 2013

Thank you again Nickol for all the help you and Skylawn provided especially with all the changes we made! The service turned out beautifully, my Grandma would have loved it!!! :)

S.H. August 02, 2013

Dear Brian - Kenny has been phenomenal in helping us with every step of the process. He was thoughtful and respectful. He made our special day July 9th, a fitting tribute to my father. I just want to let you know what a great job he's done, and thank you for letting him work on our service.

H. Family July 23, 2013

Nickol, my family and I would like to thank you for all the patience and hard work you and your team at Skylawn have done. The ceremony was beautiful and everyone commented on how it all went so smoothly. I would like to thank you for helping me through the business end of this and let you know that you made it easier for me when things are not at an easy time. You and your staff are wonderful and professional. My dad got the ceremony he so deserved.

The S. Family July 16, 2013

My mother passed at May 30, 2013. I had the funeral services done completely by Skylawn. The Funeral Director Meghan Nakamura guided me through the whole process with dignity and respect. The Cemetery Director (Big John, we loved that Verizon ring back song!) was also so helpful in the explaining the cremation and memorial portion of my mothers passing. We used the Vista Room for the repast/reception after the ceremony and it was absolutely lovely, There is a water fall in the backdrop while you enjoy your meal, and the kitchen preparation facilities were nicely appointed with an oven, dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator and large serving utensils. But all light statements aside, this was a highly traumatic time for me and I couldn't have imagined it with out Skylawn's staff support through this process. Thank you all.

B. June 12, 2013

Hello Nickol, I wanted to send a note to let you know how pleased the group was to have such a nice facility to have our planning 1st quarter meeting for 2013 - 14. Ron was such a great help to us during our meeting and the lunch was delicious. Please extend our thanks and appreciation to them form us. Many thanks for the opportunity and also for your kind assistance during the planning.

P.K. June 05, 2013

Good Afternoon Mr. Lim, I wanted to take a moment to let you know what a great customer service experience I had in working with Matthew Wong on your team. My brothers and I needed answers on issue with Skylawn involving assigning a plot to another individual. Matthew went out of his way to assist us and turn what could have been an extended process a very smooth and easy one. He is a great asset for Skylawn and made working through this process effortless. Excellent service is extraordinarily difficult to find and you have certainly found it with Mathew Wong. Thank you.

T.B. May 08, 2013

Dear Tony - Out family thanks you for the care, respect and guidance through this difficult time. Your care for our mother was dignified and loving. It will take us much time to grieve, but knowing her final resting place is so peaceful and beautiful, she is smiling down on us.

K.H. April 30, 2013

Debra Lui was incredible. Any questions she answered with honest integrity. With my boyfriend’s passing, it does comfort me to know that someone with such good heart was there to listen. She was kind and professional. Her empathy is very admirable. I will never forget the understanding and support shown to me. Debra made a very difficult situation bearable. I didn't feel as though I was a burden to her. Very caring in my time of need.

T.D. February 12, 2013

My grandmother was recently put to rest here, my mother and i are so pleased to have found this place, the service we got from Bryan was 5 stars, he was very attentive, understand, patient he really went out of his way for us. The cemetery is big, clean and beautiful. I'm thankful that my family chose this place.

Marlene P.

We had the great fortune to work with Elliot during this time of loss. His compassion and empathy for our family helped us navigate the process of creating a fitting memorial. Elliot communicated with us about all matters, seeking input and clarification. He was available even on his days off. Elliot was the best person we could have at this time. He is truly the best!

Dan L.

I used to work up here a lot and have visited this location numerous times. If I had wanted to be buried somewhere beautiful this is the place. Loved ones who visit this space will feel overwhelming tranquility and peace in the light of this natural area. The staff here are all incredibly kind and understanding. Additionally there are dedicated service roads to prevent disruptions. The energy here is really good.

Arjun C.

On behalf of the family, I would like to thank Jessica, Linda Mac Schoeppe and her Skylawn staff for putting together a beautiful memorial service for my father (Stephen Yee). Jessica helped us pick out 2 plots with amazing views to over look the Pacific Ocean. Linda was nothing short of amazing. She took her time, explained all of the different Chinese traditions and never rushed us as we had a lot of questions. On the day of the service, everything went smooth as planned and we celebrated my fathers life. After the service was over, many has told me it was the most beautiful funeral service they had ever been to. Most were amazed with Linda and her soft spoken voice.

Raymond Y.

After fighting colon cancer for almost two years, my wife passed away in the Bay Area. Skylawn Memorial Park was recommended to me by a friend. I went there to look at the site and decided on the spot that this would be the place I would like to have her buried. The whole place is high up at a mountain top, and it's very quite and peaceful. The plot I choose for my wife has a very open view. And more importantly, it faces the Pacific Ocean, which my wife wanted. Ms. Crystal Ho was the one who helped me find the right plot. She was very resourceful and extremely willing to help, and never pushed me. My wife's funeral service was also arranged in the Funeral Home there. Ms. Nature Best helped us plan everything with perfection. She put extra effort and time to incorporate the music that my wife loved into the DVD video played for the service. My wife's pictures in the video matched perfectly with the music. Almost everything else was also well done. Having a loved one pass away is a sad event for any family. Finding a peaceful place for the loved one to rest may alleviate the grief. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone who is looking for a permanent home for his/her deceased love one.

Jinshan Z.

Cecilia at Skylawn San Mateo helped me when my husband died and when my mom died. When I called her she always answered me. A good heart .

Linda B.

This is a beautiful location for one's final resting place. Mother is buried here with a great view of the ocean some distance away. The staff members are friendly, helpful and responsive, which is important during an emotionally stressful time. This location is also close enough for us to visit regularly.

Tily C.

My wife and I met with Patrick Feehan and his supervisor, Melissa, to make plans for our final resting place. Price was important so they worked with us until we found a situation we liked. We discovered they also had a veterans discount which was nice to apply to our contract. Patrick even came to home with the necessary documents for our plan. Skylawn has a great staff and location. Naturally, we are in no hurry to get there but it is nice to have a plan in place.

Wendell S.

When my dad died unexpectedly and with no arrangements in place I was pressed into action. Living in San Mateo and driving past Skylawn on my way to Half Moon Bay they came to mind when thinking of who to call to make arrangements with. At 6am on Monday morning when I needed to call Skylawn, I spoke to Amanda who was so kind and compassionate. She talked me through the process and told me she would have Linda a funeral director call me to make arrangements to transport my father from Sequoia Hospital to Skylawn. She arranged for Wings of Angles for transport. A very compassionate man came out to transport my dad. Once my dad arrived at Skylawn Linda let me know he had arrived and he was in good hands and their embalmer Celeste was taking care of my dad. After asking me a few question about what my dads wishes were and what my moms wishes were for him we made arrangements for Linda to come to my mothers house to discuse my dads funeral the next day. We decided on a witness cremation later on in the week. The entire time Linda was kind, loving, compassionate and respectful. She gave my mom great comfort. On Friday when we arrived for the witness cremation we were met by Linda, her associates Eva and Alex. All three handled us with loving kindness. I so appreciate the experience we had during this very difficult time for my family.

IIdiko G.

Hi Cindy and Michael, On behalf of my family, I wanted to thank you both for guiding us through this difficult time. The passing of our father was very sudden and we were completely unprepared. You were both very thorough and extremely thoughtful, which made this entire process a positive experience. Please also send our thanks and gratitude to Linda, who was wonderful on the day of the memorial and burial. She tended to our every need and made sure we were happy as we could be during our toughest day. Please let us know if we need to tie up any other loose ends. The past week has been quite a blur, so pardon us if we have overlooked anything remaining. Lastly, do you know when the death certificates will be ready? Thanks again from my family and for our beloved father. -J

J.C

I want to commend the job of Mr. Thress for his job with my parents services yesterday. It was a long time and process of making things happen for the services. Michael did helped me tremendously with no pressure of a time line to get the services completed. We worked together for about a year and a half on this. With the planning of it and postponing it last year because of the death of my sister, I am grateful for his understanding of my unusual situation for the start. I would recommend Mr. Thress to anyone who is looking for a compassionate and understanding man in a stressful time. Thanks again, J.R

J.R

Hi Renee, Lisa and Michael- I just wanted to send you all a huge thanks for everything. It truly was a beautiful event this morning and everything went so smoothly. Thanks for all your help and for accommodating all our requests every step of the way. It was very much a great experience working with all of you. Also... thanks again for the referral to Father Bowman. He did a wonderful service and he was a great match for our needs. And while I personally appreciated everything, my family also commented to me afterwards how much they felt taken care of today as well. Thanks again.

A.

Dear Clifford, The Funeral service you performed game comfort and inspiration to everyone present. Thank you so much for your support during this difficult time. Sincerely, The T Family

T Family

Lisa, Esther I just wanted to thank you both - especially on behalf of my entire family - for all your efforts and help in getting us through yesterday. We could not have made it through without you and for that, I thank you for understanding how important it was for us to conduct N's last rites yesterday. Your jobs are unbelievably difficult but also, I think it is an honor to see someone on the last leg of their journey on this earth.

P.V.

I would like to thank you for all of the thoughtful help you gave me for the service for R.B yesterday. The advice given to me from the clergy- Mr. B, the flowers, the grave site, the miltary- with taps and flag- were all very comforting to me to honor B. Thank you so much Sincerely, J.B

J.B

Dearest Nickol - I have not attended many funeral services but I just wanted you to know that I was extremely impressed with how my fathers funeral was handled by you and your staff. Everything I asked for you had delivered. The singer had the voice of an angel, the dove ceremony was touching. Above it all it was done with the utmost respect and dignity. On behalf of my mother T. and my two brothers, I would like to thank you and your staff for a job well done.

A.N.

Hi Cindy, Thank you again for helping us prepare a beautiful service for my mother. The guests were very impressed with the Skylawn facility and the details for our ceremony. Our family appreciates everything Skylawn has done to make this so memorable for us.

M.

Hello Cindy, The Family would like to thank you for your kindness and expertise in making Mom's service a beautiful tribute to her. Every detail from hair and makeup, dressing, portrait, flowers and support was exceptional and is greatly appreciated. You and your staff made a difficult time bearable. We can't thank you enough. Skylawn is such a beautiful, peaceful place. Again, our thanks to you and your wonderful staff.

TM

Dear Cindy - On behalf of the J. Family we would like to thank you and the Skylawn Memorial Park staff for all your hard work. It was such a BEAUTIFUL service and it was exactly how I envisioned it to be if not more.... Dear Mona - Please accept these flowers as a token of our love and appreciation for delivering my vision of how we truly wanted to celebrate my Father's life... You went above and beyond. It touched so many people in so many ways, especially my mother, brother and I. Words cannot express how grateful we were for all your hard work, dedication an kindness during this difficult time.

The J. Family

Dear Clifford, Thank you so much and I really appreciate all you have done for my husband's service. You did a wonderful job. You are a very kind and caring person. Please let your staff know how much I appreciate them going above and beyond their duties. . Again, Thank you so much for everything.

T.Y.

Dear Cindy - Thanks so much for all your help with making my fathers funeral so special. I know he would be proud. You and the team really were fantastic and made everyone comfortable. We'll always have fond memories of that special service.

R.

I apologize for being so long in getting back to you. Had to get away for a change for a while. Last so many close friends for many years 50 & 60 years all in such a short time right after G. guess we are all getting older. We want to thank you for such a thoughtful generous gift - you'll never know how much that means to us. Many thanks again will be seeing you when things settle down more. Take care

E.H.

Hi Tony, Mr. Wong, Mr. Yu, Jim and every staffs, Thank you very much for all the helps for my Mom 's funeral yesterday, it went through smoothly with all your helps and efforts that we can't express our appreciations enough in words. The only thing we can think of is to spread the words and refer new clients to you for thank you. Thank you so much once again!

U. & H.

Hi Nickol, My family is extremely grateful to you, John, and everyone at Skylawn for the guidance and making the arrangements. This gave my family a lot of comfort during a very difficult time. I appreciate it very much. I will be in touch with John when we are ready to look at plaque options. Please take care.

D.

Dear Sirs. My Friend and I happened to be driving on highway 92 when we noticed your facility. I wish to congratulate you on a friendly staff. We were made welcome, rode around with Michael and invited in by a pleasant hostess who's name I didn't catch. Your facility is most pleasant and beautifully landscaped.

J.D.

Hello Nickol, I want to thank you for your professionalism and courtesy last Friday at my mom's service and burial. C. and I were both so impressed with you and your team's assistance on Friday. Even when thrown a curve-ball or two you handled everything with grace and dignity. Please share my gratitude with Steven Wong and his co-workers as well. I'm sure you're aware that my sister K. broke down at the grave-site and Steven and the young woman in attendance were both kind and supportive.

L.

I would refer my family and friends to Michael De Wilde. Michael was very kind and considerate, especially in a time of sorrow. The staff at the front counter was kind as well. Thank you Michael for taking care of "mom". Your # 1 in my book.

S.N.

Hi Michael, Thank you for the excellent care you provided the S. family. It was much appreciated. Thanks again, Michael.

C

Hi Nickol & Kenny, My family and I would like take a moment to thank both of you to provide excellent professional services for my father last Tuesday. From arrangements to the funeral day, you provided detail information to us and explained/answered all the questions we have. You did everything you could to meet our needs. This is a big support to us at this difficult time. We really appreciate!

Y.Y.

You have been exceptional! God Bless and thank you! In memory of G.

C.

Dear Tony, I wanted to let you what a great job you did performing my mom's memorial service. The words you spoke were so comforting and meaningful for us. The video program was very beautiful. Our group was small, but we all felt like we had honored and celebrated my mom's life. She would have been really happy with the way it turned out. Thank you for everything .

B.S.

Dear Michael - Thank you for your service to the R. family today, and for taking time to show me some of the lovely facilities you offer. Should a poor or indigent family need a clergyman to assist with services, I would be pleased ass I am able to serve in that way ( as with custodians) The experiences I've had on visits to Skylawn have all been positive, and I appreciate the service and professionalism behind the dignity with which you honor the dead and the living.

M.B.

Meghan - We will never forgot all your help and kindness! Because of you, Mom and I came to Skylawn and made our arrangements, so you can know what a high impact you have made with all the special love you share with others. Thank you!

L.H.

Dear Nickol - Words are hard to come by to express our heartfelt praise to you for the handling and service provided for dad at Skylawn. Your guidance through this difficult time has been extremely comforting and assured us that we were making clear and correct decisions.

The Q. Family

Hello Nickol, I'm sorry for the late email as I had intentions of contacting you sooner after the wonderful Memorial Service for my father at Skylawn. The setting, the catering and your staff made for a worry-free and memorable event for my family, extended family and friends. We would like to extend our appreciation for your professionalism, compassion and respect that you and Skylawn have shown us during this process which culminated with the Memorial Service. We would like to have the opportunity to show our further appreciation later this week if we can plan to have a brief moment with you at Skylawn. Sincerest regards,

B.Q.

Hello Meghan, Thank you so much for all your assistance that led up to M.'s funeral. The entire staff was not just professional but truly conveyed an empathy that went beyond "business." They were so attentive and thoughtful before, during and after the funeral. Thank you

J.E.

Dear Nickol, You and Skylawn have been amazing. Thank you for everything you have done during our difficult time. You were very patient with all of our requests. I really really appreciate it. Everyone who came to the ceremony was also very impressed with your outstanding service and respect. Thanks again for everything!

H.

Dear Mary, The S. and P. families would like to thank you for the card we received and the thought for the holiday season. We wish you and your family the best for the season and new year to come. The books look great in our niches and we all appreciate the care and warmth you and the staff has shown through the worst time of our lives. We all miss dad terribly and some days are easier than others of course, but we are well and doing the best we can as he would expect. Happy Holidays

S.S. & R.P.

Dear Nickol - Recently my mother, M.E., passed. During our experience with Skylawn we had the opportunity to meet and work with Michael DeWilde. He was very helpful and efficient with all the details needed to lay my mother to rest. When dealing with the loss of a loved one, it is nice to meet such caring and kind people such as Michael.

E.D.

I want to express my profound thanks to both of you for all the help and assistance you offered to me and my family for the memorial service & Celebration of Life for my Dad. I sincerely appreciate the service you provided in contacting the VA for not only the Military Honor Guard but in obtaining the headstone for the plot. Everything was so smoothly and seamlessly done and relieved me of worrying about those parts of the planning. Again, thank you so much for everything that both of you have done and arranged for.

S.

Dear Nickol - I wished to take a moment to tell you what an asset you have in your employee, Jerrica Srabian. We recently worked with Jerrica for my mother's memorial service at Skylawn. During the entire process she was professional, patient and informative. We had a number of family members coming together on this and her interactions with each of them was just as efficient. In a time of grief, it is comforting to have someone so helpful and kind. You are fortunate to have such an employee working for you.

E.D.

My baby passed away almost. 3 years in January, my son and baby share same birthday. Its been really hard for our family. I would like to thank all the staff and grounds keepers for the beautiful. Touch of pumpkin's for all the baby's I would like to say thank you all that really was nice I will forever be grateful thank. You from all the parent's. . Forever in my hearts. All the staff. Still in mourning. Mother

C.P.

Dear Mr. Wong - When I visited the cemetery this morning, something beautiful caught my eyes, and I was pleasantly surprised by the newly repainted marker. Your company did a beautiful job, and I am most appreciative of your expert help in seeing this done so effectively and well. My family and I thank you kindly for your excellent service.

M.M.

Hi Nickol, Thank you for your help on the R. C. Memorial Service on Friday. My family and friends were delighted with our service and had rave reviews of Dr. O’Halloran’s remarks and prayers. It went smoothly and it was a perfect weather day for the outside part of the service. Skylawn did an excellent management for the service and burial.

P.C.

Michael - We would like to express our sincere thanks to you for your effortless help and caring your professionalism and expertise were and are appreciated during these difficult times. Skylawn services are exclamatory beyond anyone else. Many thanks.

E. & C. H. September 11, 2013

Dear Ms. Ladd - A month ago, my family and I contacted Skylawn Funeral Home to make arrangements for my husband's funeral service. We were fortunate enough to have met with Mr. Tony Munoz who assisted us in making necessary decisions and completing paperwork. I wanted to take a moment to recognize Mr. Munoz for his soft, reassuring and professional approach during this very difficult time for us. He patiently listened to all of our requests, was knowledgeable regarding the products and services Skylawn provided, and effectively arranged exactly what we wanted. On the day of the service, everything was arranged as planned, and we were grateful for Tony's assistance. He quietly assisted us in placing photos and taking care of last minute set-up. His presence was very reassuring and we found ourselves able to relax a bit, considering the circumstances. Our family really appreciates the service Tony provided our family. Mr. Munoz gracefully made things happen exactly as my husband would have wanted. Beautiful and simple. He clearly has a bright future with Skylawn, helping people when they are devastated with the loss of a loved one and we wanted to acknowledge the outstanding and caring assistance he gave us and commend Skylawn or employing such an excellent funeral coordinator.

J.G. August 23, 2013

Dear Nickol, > > I want you to know that you are an incredible person and our whole family is so grateful for all you did for us. I think of you and Skylawn with such appreciation and respect. I am so glad you were on call in our days of need after brother J passed away. And Jennifer was also so very kind and comforting. > > Please know that Skylawn is an asset to the community and I and the entire S. clan send you the best of regards.

J.S. August 19, 2013

Nickol, Your kind spirit and attention to every detail for the service was special and made our time there "easier". Pastor Joel and I work with a lot of people in situations like yesterday and you and Skylawn exceeded all our personal expectations; thank you! Skylawn was a part of a beautiful sad day for my wonderful cousin, Aunt and Uncle, we will forever be grateful. Blessings to you and yours

J&D P. August 11, 2013

Hi, I wanted to let you know what a great employee you have in Matthew! My dad had everything planned out and paid for, which made life much easier, but it still wasn't easy. Matthew made it easy. His easy going, caring, kind, happy, and considerate attitude made our experience very nice. He was always available to talk to if I needed anything or had a question about something. Matthew even sent me a picture of my dad's name plate once it had been placed, without me even asking. It was so unexpected, but so greatly appreciated, especially since I live almost 3 hours away from the cemetery. I will be talking to Matthew soon about preplanning for my husband and myself, and there is no other person that I would want to do that with. You are truly lucky to have such a caring and dedicated person on your staff! I hope that you will do all you can to never lose him!

J.R. August 08, 2013

Thank you for your professional services and care you provided M. and M. Family. Great Job and thanks again!

The M. Family July 31, 2013

Dear Michael - Thank you for your kind and knowledgeable assistance. Your help was invaluable, and the service was beautiful. Its a comfort to know C. & H. are at rest in such a lovely place.

K.H. July 22, 2013

Cindy - I just wanted to thank you and all your staff for the extra care and attention you gave us. It made a trying time much easier. Plus your kindness in coming to the house to pick up mom's clothing was especially appreciated. You are well-suited to your profession.

C.H. June 13, 2013

Crystal, Eric, Thank you for having assisted our family on my father's funeral. Really appreciate help to accommodate my mother's special needs to get to the cemetery. Really appreciate.

M.F. June 05, 2013

Hi Nickol, Thank you very much for coordinating such an elegant and memorable memorial service for my father, M.-C. T., yesterday. We received many compliments from the guests on the venue, and our family thought that your (and your staff's) handling of the proceedings was both professional and seamless. It was also very helpful that we could arrange the floral purchases as well as the catering through your facility, which definitely made our lives easier! We are very happy that we chose Skylawn Memorial Park to handling the entire funeral and burial services for my father.

D.W. May 25, 2013

Dear Ms. Ladd, Our beloved son, J.L.S., passed away in Burlingame, CA on December 18, 2012. On Wednesday, December 19th, my husband and I met with you at Skylawn to plan and prepare for a funeral service. Even though we were still reeling with the shock of his passing we knew there was much to be done. Knowing how to get it done was at the time overwhelming. However, from the moment we met with you until the time we departed Skylawn you where there to help us in every way possible. The sadness of loosing our only child had us in a state of almost unbearable grief, but we knew we must honor his life. J was a truly remarkable person and we miss him each and everyday. When we attended the service at Skylawn in San Mateo on Sunday December 23 we were filled with memories of his life. We wanted our son's funeral service to be carried out with respect and dignity. Our wishes were granted for as we sat through the service filled with despair, we took comfort in hearing people say a few words about him or just pay their respects. We believe he would have appreciated how we celebrated his life on that December day. In closing, please accept our sincere appreciation for the manner in which you carried out the funeral service and other responsibilities related to his passing. Your professional yet caring way of treating us, our family, his wife, his in-laws and friends was exemplary. You handled a very sensitive issue with a high degree of diplomacy. Our final memory of our son on that damp and rainy December day was of him being surrounded by yellow roses which had been placed by those who loved and admired him. Ending the service with such a moving tribute is a memory we will keep always. We are forever grateful to you and your capable staff.

J & N S. May 07, 2013

Michael, You did a first rate job in assisting with my mom's affairs. You have a wonderful kind personality, very professional on the phone, and responded in a timely manner and the whole process for me seemed effortless.It is part of life and I feel good I have everything in order for her. I thank you for everything.

K.A April 04, 2013

Skylawn is a beautiful place. It is first rate. Working with Michael Dewilde has been a pleasure. He is kind and caring and very knowledgeable. I plan on using Skylawn for my own funeral when the time comes.

L.G. February 12, 2013
Skylawn Memorial Park and Funeral Home BBB Business Review